HomeCareersMicrosoft Certified Solutions Developer (MCSD)

Microsoft Certified Solutions Developer (MCSD)

Last updated 25th Nov 2022


The term Microsoft Certified Solutions Developer refers to a program designed for candidates wishing to pursue careers writing or maintaining software applications. The Microsoft Certified Solutions Developer (MCSD) exam is designed to test the examinee's ability to code, design and deploy applications using one of several software languages.


The MCSD is a high-level certification program that assesses the candidate's ability to build innovative solutions across multiple technologies, including both cloud and local applications. The program is designed for individuals that have extensive experience writing software applications across a number of platforms. The MCSD program is subdivided into multiple examinations, including:

  • Windows Store Apps: include certifications using HTML5 (programming using HTML5, JavaScript, and CSS3 and developing Windows Store applications in HTML5), as well as C# (programming and developing Widows Store applications in C#).
  • Web Applications: examinations include programming in HTML5 with JavaScript and CSS3, developing ASP.NET web applications, and developing Azure and web services.
  • SharePoint Applications: examinations include programming in HTML5 with JavaScript and CSS3, developing ASP.NET web applications, developing SharePoint server core solutions and developing SharePoint advanced solutions.
  • Application Lifecycle Management: examinations include administering Visual Studio Team Foundation servers, software testing with Visual Studio, and delivering value with Visual Studio application lifecycle management.

Note: MCSD certifications require individuals to demonstrate continued ability to maintain their skills by completing a recertification examination every two years.

Examinees are given 50 minutes to answer 40 to 60 questions; test results are available immediately following the exam. The results of the examination are scaled such that a passing score is 700 or higher. If a candidate does not receive a passing score, they may retake the test in 24 hours. If a passing score is not achieved on the second attempt, the candidate must wait seven days before making subsequent attempts. After the fifth unsuccessful attempt, the candidate must wait 12 months before starting the exam retake process again.

Related Terms


Moneyzine Editor

Moneyzine Editor